caning · craft · crafting · deals · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · Uncategorized · upcycle

I LOVE my local Goodwill store…..


I know that I have mentioned this before, but it is worth mentioning again, I have the best Goodwill store ever!

I went for my weekly visit, and I noticed a set of 6 ladder back chairs.  Everyone that knows me, knows I have an addiction to chairs, I have them everywhere, seriously, everywhere.  I have chairs hanging in trees, decorated in gardens, mounted to walls, in every corner, stored in my cellar and attic, as well as a warehouse we have.  I took at good look at the 6 chairs, and they needed work, each needed to have a new seat, but the price was 14.99 a chair, so I passed on the chairs.

I continued looking around and decided to look at the chairs again, and they weren’t 14.99 a chair, it was for the set.  If you know anything about Goodwill stores, they have colored tags and everyday they have a special color tag that is half off, and today was a green day and my chairs had green tags. Now my 14.99 chairs are 7.50 a set, and with my senior discount they are 6.75 a set.  SOLD

chair4

Now the adventure begins….

I am very fortunate to have a store locally that sells  chair repairs supplies.  Unfortunately, she didn’t have enough rush to redo all six chairs, so she recommended flat reed splint seats.  I can cane and rush, but have never tried splint seats, but I have woven hundreds of baskets, so I was ready for the challenge.  I found many videos on YouTube and many sites with different patterns, but I couldn’t make up my mind on patterns.  The solution was easy, 6 chairs, 6 different patterns, how much fun will this be !

I don’t know if I am going to leave them natural or add a little tint to them, I guess  I will figure that out when I finish them all.

This has to be the best 6.75 I have ever spent..

 

chair1


chair3chair2

 

 

22 thoughts on “I LOVE my local Goodwill store…..

  1. They would have come home with me as well. What a great deal. I love the look of doing each seat in a different design, love to see them when they are all done. You could tie them all in with the same color like people do with chairs that don’t match, or since they are the same style, you could even make each one a different color to showcase the unique patterns on each seat.

Leave a Reply

