books · candle · craft · crafting · friends · Recycle · Repurpose · Uncategorized · upcycle

Old Book Lamp


Do you have some old books collecting dust and you just don’t know what to do with them?  Why not make a lamp? I make several different ones and this one doesn’t require drilling a hole in the books.

Supplies needed:

  • Old books
  • Candle lamp
  • Doily
  • Glue gun
  • Mod podge or white glue
  • Twigs or vine
  • Old eye glasses

Pick out books that you would like to create the base of your lamp, you can choose as many as you like.  I like to glue the sides of the books with Mod Podge so when I pick up the lamp the books won’t open.  I let the books dry overnight, and when they are dry, I glue the books together, using a hot glue gun.  I glue the doily to the books and then the candle lamp, also using a glue gun.  I like to put some twigs or vines around the base of the lamp and add a pair of old eye glasses, gluing in place.  To add more country charm, add a silicone bulb.  If you would like t make your own silicone bulbs, here is my tutorial.

 

Have you made a book lamp?  I would love to see what you have created, please share your link.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Old Book Lamp

Leave a Reply

