craft · crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · shabby · shabby country · upcycle

Make your own cake plate


I have many wine glasses that have little chips on the rims, and anyone that knows me, knows that I repurpose everything.  This is a great way to repurpose those chipped glasses, just by adding a glass plate.  What I love the most about these cake plates is the simplicity of them.  If you use all clear glass, you can embellish them to match your table or for a holiday.

Supplies needed:

  • Glasses, I prefer stemware
  • plates, for today I used a simple plate
  • glue, I usually use E-6000, but I also use a 2 part epoxy
  • imagination

 

Glue the stemware to the plate and that is it !!  Instant cake plate

Undecorated, imagine a cake on it..

Decorated with candles and flowers

Flowers placed in the glass

Two smaller glasses and plates

 

I love to decorate my dessert table with multi-layered cake plates with a variety of cupcakes and cookies.  If you are entertaining in the evening, use a flameless tealight candle in the glass, it makes everything sparkle.

Next time you go to throw that chipped glass in the recycling, imagine what you can do with it.  Show me how you repurpose your stemware, I am always looking for new projects !!

3 thoughts on “Make your own cake plate

Leave a Reply

