Plastic Water Bottle and Paper Bracelets


I saw a video a month ago showing how to repurpose water bottles into bracelets.  I bookmarked it and set it aside for another day since we don’t buy bottled beverages, I have a SodaStream.  I was at my cousins today and she had two water bottles on the counter for recycling, and I couldn’t resist and brought them home.

Materials:
Plastic water bottles with smooth sides with sticker/labels removed
Sticker removal product (like UnDo or GooGone)
Paper- scrapbooking, collage, or any decorative paper
Copper foiling tape – ¼” wide-self adhesive – silver or any color
Masking tape – whatever width you want bracelet

I had all of the supplies at home, even the foil tape, and had leftover paper from my tin can caddy.  I taped up a bottle using masking tape and it left behind a sticky mess.  I removed the sticky with GooGone and used painters tape, which worked very well. I cut the bottles like they did on the video and cut my paper and assembled it all and finished with copper tape.  I know from experience that copper tape is tricky, I always have issues with wrinkles, so I was very careful when applying.  The video was well done and she really explained things well.  After the first one, the other two were easy.

I am definitely making these again, imagine how easy it would be to have a bracelet for every outfit!

Thank you EcoHeidi for a great video.

 

13 thoughts on “Plastic Water Bottle and Paper Bracelets

  1. That is so cool!! I wonder if you could do use scrap fabrics instead of paper? I have tons of vintage fabric scraps that need a good project. Filing this idea away for when I’ve got time to craft again. (Won’t be till after the holidays…)

Leave a Reply

