craft · crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · shabby · shabby country · upcycle

Printing on Old Book Pages


I am certainly not the first person to come up with this idea, it is all over Pinterest, but this is my first try at it.

I was at a craft fair a few weeks ago, and saw a booth with graphics on old book pages.  I have never had an up-close look, and instantly fell in love with all of them, and she had dozens of different ones.   I purchased one, so I could go home and analyze it……don’t we all do that?

I used old dictionary pages, bought at Goodwill for 99 cents and fired up Photoshop.  I always look for a reason to pull out my postcard collection and scanned a few Harrison Fisher postcards.  Harrison Fisher is one of my favorite illustrators, I have several magazine covers framed from the early 1900’s.  I also searched though the Graphic Fairy’s huge collection of free vintage clip art, and found a few to play with.

The trickiest part was adjusting my printers.  I am fortunate to have a business where printers are a necessity, so I had 5 to choose from.  I played with the inkjet and the colors were too deep, and I couldn’t see the text through the design.  I changed the opacity and it still wasn’t what I wanted.  I printed on the laser printers and I really liked the difference they made.  I wasn’t happy with making one, or two, or three, lol……I just kept making them.  This could be my new addiction!

26 thoughts on “Printing on Old Book Pages

    1. Silvia, I can send you the edited .jpgs of both, or send you the print. The vintage lady is Harrison Fisher, I have around 50 vintage postcards of his and about 30 magazine covers, he is on my top 2 list…

      Thanks 🙂

  1. That is lovely! I would love for you to post it on SHOW-licous Crafts Showcase….just follow the link…www.sewlicioushomedecor.com. 🙂 I love sharing craft ideas with new friends/readers!

Leave a Reply

