craft · crafting · DIY · rag rug · Recycle · Repurpose · shabby · shabby country · upcycle

Rag Shabby Country Lampshade


I found the cutest pair of lamps at Goodwill, they were two different sizes, marble base and pink glass.  I purchased them for a super cheap price, 4 dollars a pair!  The minute I saw them, I knew what I wanted to do with them, a rag shabby country lampshade.

I have never made a rag shade, so I documented with pictures how I made them.

Supplies needed:

  • rag sheet yarn or fabric strips
  • lampshade
  • lamps
  • scissors
  • ruler or yardstick

I removed the fabric from the lampshade, exposing the lamp frame.  Make sure your lampshade has a top and bottom ring, attached by sides.  I cut a strip of fabric and tied it on the top frame and on the bottom frame and measured the strip for a template.  I chose 4 different fabric colors and cut strips.

That’s it !  The fabric is bright and happy and the rag edges are relaxed and carefree, giving it a very shabby country feel.  I can’t wait to get started on the second shade, the only problem is, where should I put them, lol….

7 thoughts on “Rag Shabby Country Lampshade

      1. Thank you very much! That idea is just so wonderfully playful and delivered with very good taste and with an eye for beauty, fell in love with it at first site! Perhaps the opportunity to try it will come along at some point, would be great and as you say a lot of fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

