crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · upcycle

rubber band spray paint vase


I have been seeing these “rubber band” spray paint vases on Pinterest for a long time, so I decided to try it this morning.  I was frustrated with  a heart crochet rug disaster, so I needed something fun to brighten my spirits.

Supplies you will need:

  • rubber bands
  • spray paint
  • glass containers
  • drop cloth, or spray box
  • drying rack

I collected my supplies,  I chose a peanut butter jar, bell jar and 2 cylinder glasses.  I placed everything on a drying rack over a drop cloth, applied the rubber bands in random places, and sprayed the containers facing down,  I did not want any paint to get inside.  I allowed the paint to dry for 3 hours, and when I checked them, everything was very dry.  I pulled the bands off gently and the project is done!

I had a few problems, but I know what I did wrong.  What I would do different:

  • not use a bell jar, the paint came off of the words
  • spray lighter coats, the thickness of the paint made it flake on the edges
  • apply more rubber bands, I think I used too few

I would consider this project a success, I like, not love, the way it came out, and I think it will look great as a centerpiece at a dinner party.  I will try this project again, I would like a taller piece for the center of the arrangement.

Try this project and post your pictures, I would love to see your creations 🙂

9 thoughts on “rubber band spray paint vase

      1. Haha I don’t know. I’ve been taking a break from everything this past week, I need to get back to it!

Leave a Reply

