craft · crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · shabby country · teacup · upcycle

create a tray that matches your ….. personality


I made a visit to my local Goodwill today, and they had a nice picture frame for  99 cents.  The condition was new, but the finish was a dark walnut.  I don’t decorate with dark walnut, I live in a log home and dark wood frames just don’t show up, they blend in to the walls.  I bought the frame anyway!

I have been wanting to make a picture frame serving tray with the handles I bought at the dollar store.  The handles were 2 for a dollar, making the project cost 2 dollars.

Supplies you will need:

  • picture frame, I painted mine ecru
  • 2 drawer handles
  • measuring tape
  • power drill
  • pencil
  • screwdriver
  • paper or pictures to decorate under the glass

 

I removed the glass and backing and used the frame glass to measure my background paper, I used wrapping paper, and cut with scissors. I measured where the holes were on the drawer handles and marked with a pencil on my frame.  I used a power drill and drilled 2 holes on each side, making sure that they were equal.  I  painted my frame, and when it was dry, I attached the handles on my tray and replaced the glass, put the paper under the glass and secured the back.

That is it !!  This project was very easy, if I didn’t paint the frame, it would have taken 15 minutes to make. I love the way it came out, it will be so cute to serve coffee on the holidays to my guests

And here is my finished project 🙂

 

18 thoughts on “create a tray that matches your ….. personality

Leave a Reply

