chalkboard · craft · crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · shabby · shabby country · upcycle

a shabby blue day


I love decorating shabby country, it is a relaxed feminine romantic way of decorating that looks comfortable and inviting.  Yesterday I found an oops can of light blue paint at Lowe’s for 50 cents, how could I pass that up !  I don’t decorate in blue, it wouldn’t fit into my color schemes, but I have many friends and family that do.

I was in the mood to paint last night, and I have been dying to make my own chalk paint.  What makes chalk paint unique is the appearance, it has a flat look and when you apply certain techniques , it adds charm to furniture and home decor items that look old and weathered.

I read many how-to blogs and decided to try the one that used the ratio of 1 cup of paint to 1 tablespoon of non-sanded grout.  There were many that said to use plaster of paris, but I didn’t have any, maybe on my next batch.  I used sand paper on dried paint, and tried to imitate the aged and weathered look.

If you don’t want to wait for time to pass to enjoy this rustic, shabby chic look, this is the technique for you.

I am happy with the way they came out, what do you think?

9 thoughts on “a shabby blue day

  1. I have been looking EVERYWHERE for a tutorial of how to do this! I saw some beautiful glass jar with this effect on Etsy but because they were in the US postage was just too expensive to buy them but I didn’t know how to make my own. Thank you SOOOO much for solving my problem by sharing this!

Leave a Reply

