chalkboard · craft · crafting · crochet · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · upcycle

diy chalkboard paint


I love using chalkboard for holidays and special occasions.  When I read a tutorial last year by Martha Stewart, I had to give it a try.  I started our with a very traditional one, using black.  I really like the way they came out and I gave quite a few away for the holidays.  I decided to change things a bit and do a different color.

Here is how you create your own chalkboard paint..

Supplies needed:

  • 1/2 cup acrylic paint (I used acrylic latex oops .50 cents paint)
  • 1 tablespoon non-sanded grout (about $1.50 @ homedepot for 1 lb.)
  • measuring cup and spoon
  • mixing container
  • whisk (I find it mixes better than a spoon)
  • paint brush
  • platter (dollar store) or whatever you would like to make a chalkboard
  • painters tape

Measure and mix your paint and grout being careful to wear a mask, the grout is a fine powder.  Make sure that there aren’t any lumps, that is why I use a whisk.

Tape your tray, making sure that it is taped well.  Apply paint, I prefer using a sponge brush, I think it adds a smoother finish.  I almost always apply at least 2 coats, since this is metal, I applied 3 coats.  Once your chalkboard has fully dried be sure to slate the surface before using it for the first time. To slate a chalkboard lightly rub chalk along the surface and then lightly rub it off.

I painted the lid of my mixing container (a repurposed sour cream container) with the paint I used and wrote on the lid, it just makes it easier to find next time.

I decided to be creative and add a bit of country shabby to the edges, and the finished product looks like this…

Have fun with your chalkboard and look for future posts to see what else I have made with this paint today, I just have to finish them 🙂

13 thoughts on “diy chalkboard paint

  1. I have been wanting to try this since I first heard of this but….not even our Plasterer has ever heard of Non-sanded grout! So I don’t know what the equivalent is here in the UK

Leave a Reply

