craft · crafting · DIY · Recycle · Repurpose · Uncategorized · upcycle

Repurposing a glass jar


I love the look of colored glass.  There isn’t anything prettier than the sun shining in through a colored glass jar or bottle, I must have half a dozen throughout the house.  I am especially fond of pink and yellow depression glass, another thing I love to collect.

This project took me three tries to get it right, and the tutorials made it look error proof……not

First try…..I followed a tutorial that said I could use either Mod Podge or Elmers Glue, mix in a few drops of water and food color and when it stops dripping, bake it in the oven until it turns clear.  I used Elmers Glue and it left a puddle at the bottom of the jar that never turned clear…

Second Try…I followed another tutorial and used Mod Podge and food color and let dry on a drying rack for 2 days.  This method left major streaks, but dried clear, I was not happy with the results at all.  I also think I got a little carried away with the food color, lol.

Final attempt and the winner….I used Mod Podge, added a few drops of water to thin it, went light on the food color and let dry on a rack for 2 days.  I do like the way these came out, no streaks, and dried clear.

Next time you go to throw your glass jars in your recycle bin, think twice, there are dozens of things you can do with them, this has to be one of my favorites !!

7 thoughts on “Repurposing a glass jar

  1. I am glad you tried this first! So far I have only tried the Paint swirled inside a Mason Jar and that turned out okay but this is on my list to try so I will bear in mind what you used.

Leave a Reply

