cooking · friends

Lunch with friends….


Lunch with friends is always wonderful, but today’s lunch was nothing short of amazing.  Thanks to Pinterest, I was able to see what my guests posted on their “to try” lists and their “favorite food” lists, making it easy to create the menu.  I also thought it would be a great opportunity to try a few new recipes, and to share some of my favorites as well.

Val arrived with a fresh lobster salad dip, wow, I must have that recipes, and Liz and Cathy shared ideas with wonton wrappers and lobster salad and artichoke spinach dip.  I can’t wait to try them, I have never worked with wonton wrappers, so I am excited about the possibilities.  Liz and Cathy arrived with Uncle Sam’s Candy, which is made locally.  I have never tried the chocolate, and I fell in love at first bite.  If you have never tried it, here is the website http://unclesamscandy.com/, I know I will be going there.

Cathy had posted on Pinterest that she wanted to try meatloaf cupcakes, and I make those often.  I always use Kraft’s recipe, it is super easy and I just love it, the secret is Stove Top stuffing.  The cupcakes were a big hit, served with a salad from my garden.

Image

The meal was served with bread baked in a slow cooker, and yes, it really works !!!  This is my third attempt, using 3 different brands, and they all came out well.  Today’s bread could have used another 5-10 minutes in the cooker, but was crunchy and tasty and tasted great.  All you need to bake bread in a slow cooker is parchment paper, premade dough and a slow cooker.

Image

Liz had posted a keylime pie on her Pinterest.  I have made several keylime pies, but had not tried this recipe.  The recipe was easy to follow, I added a bit of lime zest to the pie, and everyone loved it.  I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture of it !!

Thank you Val, Liz and Cathy for a wonderful afternoon filled with laughter and  great conversation, I look forward to doing it again 🙂

3 thoughts on “Lunch with friends….

Leave a Reply

