cooking · french macaron · macaron

French Macarons, where have you been all my life?


I am proud to be part of a bridal shower next weekend at my home.  We have a clear vision of the theme,  french country tea party.  While surfing around Pinterest, I saw the most amazing table setting and it was adorned with French Macarons, in a variety of gorgeous colors.  I read many articles on the art of making these Macarons and how difficult it was, and I was ready for the challenge !!  I went to 3 grocery stores, remember, I live in the middle of nowhere, looking for almond flour and struck out 3 times.  While at the grocery store, I binged how to make almond flour, looked easy, challenge continues.

I started with the recipe http://yumscrubblog.com/2011/11/15/yum-recipe-french-macarons-with-three-fillings/.  It was well written and easy to follow, and the site has a video !!  I am very happy with how they came out, and the taste was amazing !!

The color is off, that is going to take some work.  They didn’t have blanched almonds in bulk, so it has brown flecks throughout from the skins.  I was shooting for sage green and as you can see, I didn’t achieve that color.  Thank goodness this was a test run and not the actual bridal shower.  They came out light as a cloud with the perfect shell, and they just melt in your mouth.

I can never stop with 1 recipe, I had to try Martha’s recipe.  Her recipe just never came together, and the final product was not even close to the first recipe.  I can’t wait to make these again, practice makes perfect and I need to work on the colors.

If anyone has any  tips on coloring,  I would appreciate your feedback.

 

2 thoughts on “French Macarons, where have you been all my life?

  1. I have seen these all over the place but reading the recipe they sound a bit of a ‘To-Do’ but I bet they are super delicious. I look forward to seeing yours:)

Leave a Reply

