Will You Be My Valentine?


I am proud to be part of the  “Lovey-Dovey” edition of  Collectively Creative, hosted by Kelly of Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons!

Will You Be My Valentine?

Valentine’s Day is approaching once again, and I am thinking about what Valentine’s Day means to me.  It first became important to me in grade school.  I remember picking out a box of assorted valentines at our locally owner drug store.  I have always attended schools with small class sizes, so one box always was sufficient.  I always looked forward to exchanging Valentine’s Day cards with my friends and classmates.   My mother would help me write everyone’s names on the envelopes and I would sign my name on the back of each card.  I still have all of the Valentines  I gave my mother, she saved every card I gave her in a folder, and gave them to me when I had a place of my own.

The tradition ended in fifth grade, the days when a simple card or a small heart-shaped box of candy that made you smile were over, it now had a new meaning.  It was no longer about friendship and fun, it was for the girls that were dating, my mother would still give me a valentine and that cute little box of candy in the shape of a heart.  Valentine’s Day took a new twist in High School, it was now about big cards, stuffed animals and a big box of candy, if you were dating, and if you weren’t, you would pretend the day didn’t exist.

Valentine’s Day as an adult has an entirely different meaning.  In the beginning of my 20 year relationship it was nice restaurants, fancy flowers and great chocolates, now we are lucky to have the evening off of work.  The day is still special, but in a different way.  The day is not about spending money and giving gifts, but more about making time for each other and giving love.  I have given Don the same Valentine, birthday card and father’s day card for 20 years, he opens it up, says it is the perfect card, sets it on the table and forgets about it.  I put the cards back in my special drawer for next year…….  It is a joke with my friends, and I have a friend that actually beat me on this joke.  My friend gave her husband a card, he read it and set it on the table, she took it back to the store and got her money back, lol.  He never even noticed that the card wasn’t sealed or signed.  Priceless !!

Love is the greatest gift we can give and receive, but it has to be everyday, not just on Valentine’s Day.  The day has become very commercial, with exchanging extravagant gifts and dining in expensive, overly crowded restaurants.  My day will be filled with  kindness, time, compassion, respect, and thoughtfulness to the people I love.

I love you means so much more than three words inscribed on a candy heart.

rugs-bannerIn the last 6 months, I have spent endless hours teaching myself to crochet.  I have been on a mission to find a heart rag rug pattern that wasn’t difficult for beginners and wanted to share my findings with you.

This place mat pattern is free and I added a few extra rows to make it a rug.  The instructions are well written and I was very happy with the results.

h2aI also found a wonderful pattern on Etsy that is also well written and the seller invited me to write if I had any problems.  The only problems I am having with crochet is my own errors, lack of following details and maintaining stitch tension.

h1a

If you have a great heart pattern you would like to share, or if you follow one of the patterns I have provided, please share, I would love to see your creations :)

Happy Valentine’s Day

Please visit my fellow bloggers of Collectively Creative:

I Love You More Than… – (Cobwebs, Cupcakes & Crayons)
Heart To Heart – (Pillows A-La-Mode)
Top Ten Romantic Movies of All Time – (The Thinking Closet)
DIY Heart T-Shirt – (NorthStory)
[DIY] 12 Pre-Planned Date Cards – (Inspire and Indulge)
The Love Letters – (Mrs. And The Misc.)
Valentine’s Day Bon Bon’s – (Happy Little Kiwi)
Lovey Dovey School Lunch Ideas – (Time With Thea)
Loving These Products – (Neaten Your Nest)
Kniting Hearts(Gentle Stitches)
A little Lovie magic – (The Thing About Joan)
Sending hugs – (Cul de Sac)
Give a Fortune of Love – (Green Door Hospitality)
Will You Be My Valentine? – (A Ponytail Kind Of Day)
The Lovey-Dovey Edition Logo
35 thoughts on “Will You Be My Valentine?

  1. How funny that in 20 years your husband hasn’t noticed he gets the same card. I love your rug, I haven’t tried anything heart shaped and may have to give it a try at some point. Right now I have way too many things waiting for me to finish or get started on.

    Valentines Day has never mattered much to me, but I always got my children and now grand children something small. It frustrates me that every day that could possibly be monetized is. One day I’d like to see less commercialization of our holidays.

  2. I cracked up when I read about you giving your husband the same card for 20 years! I absolutely love that! Obviously, it really was the perfect card! :)

    Good luck with your crocheting — you look like a pro at it!

  3. Fantastic story! (You’re a great storyteller.) I loved to hear your walk down memory lane of Valentine’s Days past. Makes me reflect on my own experiences.

    So happy to have “met” you through Collectively Creative this month. What a fun collaboration this is!

    Also, the heart placemats look loverly! You’re quite gifted.

  4. “you would pretend the day didn’t exist” – SO TRUE. Story of my high school. I am not a fan of Valentine’s Day, or rather wasn’t for years until I had my kids. Then it took on a different meaning. I’ve slowly been working my way into it as they’ve made it pretty impossible not to get excited about it.

    That’s a great piece of work. I am always in awe of individuals that know how to knit and crochet and sew as I have double thumbs at it all.

  5. I am a craft teacher and crochet is one of my favorite things to teach. Well done! You have done an excellent job and you know you are doing well when you start ‘tweaking”a pattern and making it yours, such as with the rug. Also a tiny tip, if you aren’t completely satisfied with your end result grab a darning needle and the same colored yarn and alter it to suit your self. This is never mentioned in patterns but is the way the experts get their work so expert looking.

  6. Happy Valentines’s Da,y Liz! Love those heart shaped mats!

    Valentines has a special meaning in our house because our only daughter was born the day before, so we have had a couple Valentine themed birthday parties. We have heart shaped cupcake cases and pre-baked cupcakes for the girls to decorate, red and pick decor, 7up cran/raspberry cocktails in champagne glasses and paper umbrellas.
    Getting ready for a special 10th birthday party now. Anyone have any other ideas to suit this theme?

  7. I love your idea of giving the same card every year. Having been married for 32 years that has added up to a lot of money over time to say I love you to your partner. This is a wonderful idea for establishing a very special tradition. Love your heart placemat too! ~Thea

  8. Hello lovely! Haha, this must be the year for crochet! I started learning (and commenced the crocheting of my first scarf) about three months ago and I’m still persisting. I get frustrated with myself so easily… sigh. Your rugs look gorgeous. Love the beautiful pretty pastels. It’s nice to have discovered your blog through the Collectively Creative series. I’ll be checking in with you from now on! :)

    • I tried it with you a few years ago, you left my card on the table at your birthday dinner, and I kept watching it and then you packed it up and took it home. Don’s kids tried it with me a few years ago and I noticed and asked for my card :)

  9. I love following your blog even though it has been a while since i have seen your cute posts!….I have nominated you for the Inspiring Blog award…thanks for all your work!

Leave a Reply

